top of page

What Did I Do on My Induction/Orientation Days? 要開學拉! 傳媒系新生訓練


Behind me is the School of Communication of Media at the University of Leeds! Isn't it lovely? I love how my department looks like!!!

Honestly, I was so excited before the start of the Induction on the 20th of September. On the very first day, I woke up at 6:30 in the morning, put on my makeup, and got dressed to take on the adventure.

Surprisingly, Asian students make up 90% of the postgraduates this year in the school of Communication and Media. I could hear people around me

talking in Mandarin Chinese while I was waiting for the beginning of the Induction Lecture.

I was astonished at one point when I realized how many Chinese students were seeking higher degrees overseas. Surprisingly, Asian students make up 90% of the postgraduates this year in the School of Communication and Media. I could hear people around me talking in Mandarin Chinese while I was waiting for the beginning of the Induction lecture. Sadly, I couldn’t name 5 Taiwanese fellows that I met after a week of being in Leeds.

Our induction only lasted for three days while compared to other schools, like business school, whose induction is two weeks long, I felt lucky.

Within these three days, we’d been through program talks Leeds for Life talks, sessions on how to deal with transitions and changes, a career talk, several workshops of intercultural experiences, time management, and plagiarism.

It was considerate of the University of Leeds to arrange all the workshops and talks for us. They considered every detail to prepare us for the challenging, yet fun, postgraduate life here in Leeds.

Among all the activities I attended for these two days, the event that impressed me the most was watching a movie at the Hyde Park Cinema. It also got me ponder about how precious my life is.

The movie we watched was called I, Daniel Blake. It was a heart-wrenching film. I was truly overwhelmed with how *SPOILER ALERT* the main character’s life ended. Life itself surely isn’t a smooth process. We all have ups and downs. Nonetheless, this movie put great emphasis on the sorrow and unfairness that some, especially the minorities, face.

It is fortunate for those of us that we can enjoy Life’s journey without having to worry about having enough resources to fulfill our basic human needs. I do cherish the privilege and opportunity that allows me to pursue my master’s degree here in the U.K. I can’t wait to explore the unknown challenges and try to make the most of it!

This is the inner design of the Hyde Park Cinema.

Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page